Days 6-10: Green, Red, Gray, Brown

This week I completed my color experiences of being a color for a day. 

Monday: Olive Green

Image

This outfit was very comfortable for me- I felt easygoing and approachable. My friends told me that I looked nice, and appeared laid back and friendly. I think this green is a friendly color- it wants to make friends without imposing. I also the olive green shade that I chose must have affected my day (by making it so comfortable), which may not have beent the same for a brighter green, like lime green.

Tuesday: Red
 
Image
 
I got a lot of questions and comments when I wore red, probably like 10 people came up to me to talk about it. One girl said I looked really happy, another said I looked bloody. I got both positive and negative comments, but almost all of them said it was shocking/bright/wanted attention. I thought about how loud the color red is, and how this related back to my surveys and the responses comparing colors to people. Red is sort of an extrovert, and blue is an introvert in many people’s perception. I definitely felt like this was true for my experience. Since I am not an extrovert, I was very uncomfortable in this outfit for most of the day, and I felt like I wanted to be quiet in other ways to make up for how loud my outfit was.
 
Wednesday: Gray
 
Image

This color fit into the color palette that most people wear, but since there was so much gray, people noticed. The color was easy for me in that it didn’t distract me, but it also bothered me that there was so much neutrality and no extremes to break it up. I felt a little bit mucky and dreary, almost indecisive. So much of this color of gray was unsatisfying because I wanted some variation. Some people liked the outfit and told me that it seemed like a nice color for me.

Thursday: Brown 
 
Image

Brown felt a lot like gray in that it was a lot of neutrality that I wanted to add some color/juxtaposition to. I don’t think a lot of people noticed this one, and one girl who did notice said she liked it because it was subtle. Someone else told me I looked good in it, and it matched my hair. Overall the outfit seemed pretty normal, felt pretty comfortable, and had a sense being natural and human to me. It seemed to fit well well with other colors around me and socially fit in.

Leave a Reply

